Enrichment Opportunities

Advanced Placement - AP Coordinator - Ms. Valarie Truehill vtruehill@muroc.k12.ca.us

Advanced Placement (AP) is a nationally recognized program conducted by the CollegeBoard which allows students to enroll in rigorous, college-level work at high school campuses. In May, students in these courses may elect to take an exam for the opportunity to earn "advanced placement" in college admissions and often college credit.

Our AP courses include: AP Studio Art, AP Calculus AB, AP Comparative Government, AP European History, AP Language and Composition, AP Literature and Composition, AP Physics, AP Statistics, and AP U.S. History.

Band Booster Club - Advisor - Ms. Kendra Spitzer kspitzer@muroc.k12.ca.us

California Scholastic Federation (CSF) - Advisor - Ms. Alejandra Galeano agaleano@muroc.k12.ca.us

The California Scholarship Federation (CSF) emphasizes high standards of scholarship and community service for California high school students. CSF plans and conducts the annual Wall of Fame ceremony which honors past Desert alumni. Students qualify academically to be part of this organization.

Cheer - Advisor - Ms. Danielle Copeland dacopeland@muroc.k12.ca.us

Drama - Advisor - Dr. Noel Zavala nzavala@muroc.k12.ca.us

The Drama Club operates both as a club and a class. Most students in the club are also in the class as this is required to perform in plays. There are two sections of Drama offered at DHS, and one section offered for the Jr. High. Students wishing to join the club but can't take the class need to contact Dr. Zavala in Room 24. The Drama Club puts on three to four performances each year.

Mathletes (High School)

Students apply math skills in competitions with local schools throughout the year. There is a JV and Varsity team.

Mathletes (Junior High) - Advisor - Mr. Paul Horton phorton@muroc.k12.ca.us

Students apply math skills in competitions with other schools. Students wanting to compete may inquire with Mr. Horton in room 9.

National Honors Society (NHS) - Advisor - Mr. Jason Spitzer jspitzer@muroc.k12.ca.us

NHS is more than just an honor roll; NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of Scholarship, Leadership, Service, Character, and Citizenship.

National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI) - Ms. Valarie Truehill vtruehill@muroc.k12.ca.us

Odyssey of the Mind

Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Team members apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. They then bring their solutions to competition on the local, state, and the world level.

Robotics - Advisor - Mr. Mark Grubb mgrubb@muroc.k12.ca.us

Science Fair - Advisor - Mr. Luke Hanes lhanes@muroc.k12.ca.us

All students in Biology, Anatomy, Chemistry, or Physics must complete a science fair project. School projects that place in the top three in their category qualify for the Kern County Science Fair. Top county projects then qualify for the California State Science Fair. Desert has a long-standing tradition for dominating the Kern County Science Fair. See Mr. Hanes in Room 13 for more details.